100 Feet Ahead

Badger Mtn

As I look at the calendar, I cannot believe that I will be heading to Rome in just 45 days! The preparation is getting real, and as I make a list of what I need to pack I’m grateful that I’m not in on this alone. So many people have helped me along the way for this pilgrimage, and I am so glad that I have a team behind me.

Last week, I had the pleasure of meeting with my team for a mini-retreat where we prayed together and created community among what will be our World Youth Day family. One of the highlights of the retreat was praying together in front of the Blessed Sacrament. Deacon Mikhail Alnajjar, who is preparing for his own pilgrimage to the Holy Land led us in prayer, saying that the Body and the Blood of Christ cannot be separated because a body without blood is dead. We know that the body needs to be cared for so that we can sustain ourselves, and blood is what we see when the body is injured. But we know that Christ is alive, so His Body and Blood are together. So, it make sense that there will be high points AND struggles on this journey as we travel TOGETHER as the Body of Christ.

During our time together at the retreat, God revealed this message to me:

13334447_10105601520430000_1773708125_o

No matter what our struggles, God is always going to be ahead of us. He’s not trying to beat us to where we need to be. He’s not trying to show us that he’s the boss. But he knows the way. He wants us to follow him with confidence, knowing that he won’t lead us to a place he hasn’t been to before. I’m confident that no matter where we may go during this pilgrimage, He will already be there.

Today I had the opportunity to go on a hike with three of my fellow pilgrims. After hiking Badger Mountain, we prayed in the park. It was beautiful to just sit and pray without fear of being persecuted, without fear that we would be harassed. It was just an opportunity to sit and worship God together, and it was beautiful. It’s what I’m most looking forward to – praying with the universal Church that is the family of God. There’s no reason to be afraid of that; in fact I do believe that there are many graces to be received by coming together and praying together.

In the next 45 days, I look forward to growing closer to my WYD family. I ask that you please continue to keep us in your prayers as we continue to prepare for our journey, and please be confident that you are in ours!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment