The Theology of Wine Country

The grounds at Treveri Winery in Wapato, Washington

The grounds at Treveri Winery in Wapato, Washington

People who have followed me here on Roamin’ Catholic or on my other blog, Everything Turned Upside Down, may be aware that I live in Washington’s Mid-Columbia where some of the nation’s best wine is produced. Our area boasts over 200 wineries and acres of grape vineyards that I like to call “the wine industry’s best kept secret.” While people are dropping big bucks for wine tours in Napa Valley, we’re sitting pretty with world renown wine and short lines in the tasting rooms. The wine produced in this part of the state has been featured in magazines and won points at festivals. Exploring wineries that are just a stone’s throw away from my front door has become a favorite hobby.

“I am the true vine, and my Father is the vine grower.
He takes away every branch in me that does not bear fruit,
and every one that does he prunes so that it bears more fruit.

This Sunday’s Gospel readings were particularly resonant to me not only because of the vine and branches rhetoric’s geographic relevance but also the current state of my life. Today, the Bishop celebrated confirmation Mass for us, and his homily really spoke to me. He said that as we all grow in faith, the Father will have to prune us. There are some parts of our lives that he’ll have to cut away so that we can be more fruitful. Because if those dead branches stay a part of us, they’ll strangle us. They’ll suck the life out of us, and we won’t be able to produce the good fruit.

I looked at the confirmandi and hoped that they were listening. I hope that they realized what they are taking on, and I hope that they answer the call to be fruitful. Most importantly, I hope that they will see that they are in good hands when the Father is the one who prunes them and nurtures them. I hoped the same for myself.

As I went home, I started to think about the areas in my life that are fruitful, and I thanked God for them. So often I look outwardly to see where God is working, blind to what he’s doing in my life (just like how it’s so easy to look to Napa for the great wine when it’s right here in my backyard). Then, I prayed that he’ll show me those areas in my life that are leading to death and that I’ll allow him to cut them away. After all, he’s the winemaker who knows best. And I know that my best will have to come with time.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment