Uncovered

uncovered

I wanna live my life UNCOVERED.

I wanna be more than a number.

All I need is your love.

I wanna live less ordinary.

I wanna be extraordinary.

All I need is your never-ending love.

-Dante Schmitz

I first heard Dante Schmitz’s song Uncovered during my mission trip to Ashland, MT this past summer. Back then it was all about unleashing the power that God has placed into us to help others and spread his love to those who are in need.

After such a great experience in Ashland, we decided to use “Uncovered” as the confirmation retreat theme. This time it took on a completely different meaning.

Rather than revealing God’s love to others, I felt like we uncovered ourselves so that we can experience his love and mercy.

Right before our women’s session, just the females on retreat had lunch together. After eating, we encountered the gentlemen, and I watched as they held the door open for us. Not one of the ladies said thank you. I was appalled. gentlemenI came to the conclusion that this session wouldn’t be filled with the Dove Beauty spiel or comments about how God created them and therefore they should respect themselves. It was clear that this particular group of girls was already pretty confident in themselves. Rather, we took a different spin on how we should treat the gentlemen in our lives by respecting them and being grateful for them not only because we deserved their respect but because they also deserved our gratitude. So rather than pranking their dorms with pink streamers and glitter, we affirmed them. In doing so, we uncovered what had been buried beneath years of claims about being an independent woman who can do it all without  men: We didn’t get here alone.  We held onto each ohter and we were also supported by the men who held doors open for us and believed in us.

But perhaps one of the most striking things that I got a chance to witness was the willingness of the youth to come before Christ and uncover their deepest darkest secrets and sins. On the first day of the retreat, we offered confession to the attendees. While most went, some chose not to do so. During the second day, we had Adoration, and several more attended. Not only that, but some youth went a second time. It was beautiful to see our priest sit with them late into the night, and I have no doubt that he would have sat there forever if he needed to. Indeed, beautiful things happen when we simple open ourselves to our loving and forgiving Lord. He rewards us by showing us His face, completely uncovered.

snow

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment