Make Something Beautiful for Me

20160723_025938

We have had the opportunity to visit several churches here in Rome, and although I marveled at the beauty of St. Mary Major, the history behind St. Paul Outside the Walls and the art housed at St. Peter’s, I had a profound experience at the Basilica of St. Prassede.

I sat down to pray and wondered why the churches back home aren’t like the churches here. Why aren’t our ceilings adorned with mosaics and our floors patterned with beautiful tiles? I found myself wondering “Why aren’t our churches back home this beautiful?

God responded with a very clear request:

Make something beautiful for me, Melissa.

I asked, “But how?”

He replied, “You already know how.”

I was overcome with emotion because of course He was right. He’s already shown me. I’ve been blessed with very real gifts and talents, and I have an even deeper understanding now of what it means to make something beautiful for the Lord. I’m a maker, and what I make will be beautiful because what I make will be made for the Lord.

Tomorrow we will go to Assisi, and I am so excited to experience St. Francis, who was told “Rebuild my church.” I have a feeling that God has something extraordinary waiting for me there.

Please continue praying that I will be open to God’s will and for the safety of all pilgrims as we make our way to Krakow!

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Make Something Beautiful for Me

  1. Pingback: From Extraordinary to Beautiful | Everything Turned Upside Down

Leave a Reply

